South West Minnesota Region

South West Minnesota is some of the flattest land in the state. It contains 21 Counties.

While some small hills exist, a majority of the land is extremely flat, yet fertile for farming.

The Minnesota River Valley provides some small geographic differential.

Willmar, which is the largest city at 19,570 (2013), the 58th largest city in Minnesota.

The area has numerous small cities, as railroads criss-crossed the area.

Major cities include Willmar, Redwood Falls, Marshall, Montevideo, Jackson and Pipestone.


Big Stone County
Chippewa County
Cottonwood County
Jackson County
Kandyohi County
Lac qui Parle County
Lincoln County
Lyon County
Martin County
Murray County
Nobles County
Pipestone County
Pope County
Redwood County
Renville County
Rock County
Stevens County
Swift County
Traverse County
Watonwan County
Yellow Medicine County

© Copyright 2010- John Marvig and Contributors. All Rights Reserved